Category Archives: Theater Review

A review of the skits and plays that we do throughout the year.

BPKFL Christmas Eve 2016

If you weren’t lucky enough to be at the Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge for Christmas Eve, we hope that you were in the company and family and friends wherever you were. As for us, Christmas Eve was filled with all the things you remember: Santa and Mrs. Claus(s) coming by boat, the famous Christmas Eve skit, free cookies and chocolate milk for the kids, and Joan’s famous frozen chocolate cherry concoction for the grown-ups.

Santa and Mrs. Claus(s) made landfall around 5 pm; guided as always by Vicki and Jay Gladwell. Their boat came ashore on the canal at site 19, where there was candy and Ho! Ho! Ho’s! for everyone on shore. Kids of all ages gathered to welcome Santa to Sun Beach, and get their chance to sit on his lap and tell him their Christmas wishes.

Special thanks to Mike and Laurie Kingman for playing the role of Santa and Mrs. Claus(s)!

Later, everyone gathered in the Rec Room for our annual Christmas Eve skit. This year, the skit recreated the strange events that took place during Santa and Mrs. Claus(s)’ visit to Sun Beach. One report said that the water in front of the boat had miraculously flattened out, and another report said that a burst of snowfall had covered Santa and Mrs. Claus(s) during their visit. This, of course, resulted in a flurry of interest in the Big Pine Key Fishing Lodge by the media.

The skit started off with some musings about BPKFL Christmas Eves from the past by our own Lisa Gladwell, which was followed by some very serious reporters trying to get to the bottom of all the Christmas Spirit floating around the BPKFL! These reporters were after a big Christmas story and they would not give up until they got to the bottom of it all.  During their investigation, they spoke with several long-standing guests of the BPKFL including Bob Murphy and Bob Haken. The skit was closed by Hans Hofmann, our illustrious MC with some inspiring words that totally summed up the season.

Hans Hofmann, our illustrious MC, summed up the night’s events with some inspiring words that totally summed up the season:

You have just heard live interviews of eyewitnesses that there is A Christmas Spirit traveling with Mr. and Mrs. Claus through the Florida Keys tonight. Our conclusion is that the old Spirit of Christmas is out and that the new Spirit is in. We have all experienced The Spirit of Christmas in our gift lists, cards, Christmas lights and family dinners. This is very different than The spirits of Christmas that visited Scrooge in the classic Christmas Carol story.  Those spirits were ghostly and scary.  The new Christmas Spirit that we experienced here tonight was fun and played tricks on us, and never the less, has made believers of us all. Let’s go back again to when Santa Claus played a big role in our lives and we will wish everyone a Merry Christmas, in a world that is as kind as a child can imagine it. 

The skit closed with Analee Calhoun (Joan’s granddaughter and Lisa’s daughter) coming on stage to finish her letter to Santa. She asked Hans, “I know how to spell Santa, but how do you spell Claus?” Hans and the entire camp audience were more than happy to help her out, by spelling Claus(s) for her the BPKFL way:

C -L – A – U – S – S!

Special thanks to our entire cast:  Mike and Laurie Kingman  – Mr. and Mrs. Claus (Boat and Beach), Hans Hofmann, Donna Rocheleau, Sarah McCarson, Lisa Gladwell Calhoun and Analee Calhoun, David Grossman, Kelvin Stratton







Mini/Regular Lobster Hop 2016

One of the highlights of lobster season for BPKFL guests is the annual mini/regular lobster hop. These much-anticipated events include a skit, award ceremony and dance.

Since 2016 is an election year for the Content Keys, Spanish Harbor, Hawk’s Channel and Looe Key, the lobster hop skit gave us an inside look into lobster politics. This year, the lobsters will choose their four-year representative to the United Free Underwater World Convention. After a long campaign, the race is down to two candidates: Lump and Limpton. As our play opened, our lobster family found themselves on opposite sides of the ticket, as the candidates descended on Spanish Harbor to make one final push before the election.

Our actors play an important role in bringing our skit to life. Special thanks to everyone who supported the skit, both on stage and behind the scenes.

Mini Lobster Hop

Human/Ugly Giants

Michael LaBonta

Rick Bowers

Diver Dance – John Dance



Limpton – Lauren Garcia

Lump – Anson

Legan Kelly – Lisa Calhoun

ROTC LT -Zachery LaBonta

Larry Lobster (dad) Noel Tobias

Lisa Lobster (mom) Natalie Garcia

Lorraine Lobster (Lisa’s mom) Kathy Norman Garcia

Leo Lobster (son) Pearce and Luke

Little Lucy Lobster (daughter) Emma Habjan

Uncle Lou Lobster (Larry’s brother) Bill Horner

Rumors – Alley Hahn

Queen Looeky – Jessica Horner

General Lee Speaking – Willie Ridgeway

Daryl – Dale Beaver

Other Brother Daryl – Johnny Beaty

King Newburg – Stacy Ward

Bug Harvey – Bill Hahn

Triple Tail – Susan Dalton

Regular Season Lobster Hop Cast

Human/Ugly Giants

Rick Bowers

Diver Dance‘s Daughter Daniella – Michelle Nadelman



Larry Lobster (dad) Chris Niles

Lisa Lobster (mom) Janet Wade

Leo Lobster (son) Pearce and Luke

Little Lucy Lobster (daughter) Joli McElroy

Uncle Lou Lobster (Larry’s brother) Joe Smirnov

Limpton – Kira Wilson

Lump – Hoot Wade

Leghan Kelly – Lisa Calhoun

ROTC LT -Carlo Fulgenzi and Landon Beaver

Rumors – Pam Frances

Queen Looeky – Debbie Fulgenzi

General Lee Speaking – Willie Ridgeway

Daryl – Dale Beaver

Other Brother Daryl – Johnny Beaty

Diver Dance’s Daughter – Michelle Nadelman

King Newburg – Chris Sparks

Bug Harvey – Bob Risley

Triple Tail – Susan Taylor

Triple Tail’s Friend – Jacque White

After the skit, our intrepid lobster hunters received their awards for largest lobster in each age category, as well as an induction ceremony for our first-time lobster catchers who can now officially call themselves “Ugly Giants.”


Mini-Lobster winners include:

Name/Category Age M/F Weight
Lil Junior 
Avery Savoy 4 F 1# 5.6oz
Brenan Turner 8 F 3# .2oz
Bryce Turner 10 M 2# 14.2oz
Lauren Vittorio 16 F 1# 11.4oz
Wesley Wilson 16 M 2# 2.8oz
Nicole Sparkman 42 F 1# 11.6oz
Bill Hahn 50 M 1# 14.4oz
Josh Purdy 40 M 1# 14.4oz
Rick Bowers 65 M 1# 10oz


Regular season winners include:

Name/Category Age M/F Weight
Lil Junior 
Biff Mugavero 3 M 1# 5.8oz
Reese Lavson 3 F 1# 11oz
Emily Davidson 10 F 1# 7.4oz
Patrick Mckenzie 12 M 2# 1.2oz
Michelle Nadelman 13 F 2# 3oz
Marylin Hollingsworth 60 F 2# 3oz
Mike Davis 62 M 2# 14.4oz